Translation Disclaimer

VDSS Bulletins and Closures
staff of hermes icon VDSS COVID-19 Resources | VDSS Alert DSS Closures
An Agency of the Commonwealth of Virginia
Click Here for Additional Resources
Search for Child Day Care
|Return to Search Results | New Search |

Mr. Akwasi Owusu
4023 Sapling Way
Triangle, VA 22172
(703) 291-0136

Current Inspector: Cathy E. Aylor (540) 222-6352

Inspection Date: Sept. 13, 2017

Complaint Related: No

Areas Reviewed:
22VAC40-111 Administration
22VAC40-111 Personnel
22VAC40-111 Household Members
22VAC40-111 Physical Health of Caregivers and Household Members
22VAC40-111 Caregiver Training
22VAC40-111 Physical Environment and Equipment
22VAC40-111 Care of Children
22VAC40-111 Preventing the Spread of Disease
22VAC40-111 Medication Administration
22VAC40-111 Emergencies
22VAC40-111 Nutrition
22VAC40-111 Transportation
22VAC40-80 THE LICENSE.
22VAC40-80 THE LICENSING PROCESS.
63.2 Licensure and Registration Procedures
63.2 Facilities and Programs..
63.2 Liability Insurance Disclosure
22VAC40-191 Background Checks for Child Welfare Agencies

Technical Assistance:
Consultation provided on reviewing and updating children's files annually.

Comments:
An unannounced renewal study was conducted today with the provider, who was present with an assistant and two preschoolers for a total of 4 points. The children had just finished lunch and were engaged in free play during most of the inspection. Five children's files and four caregivers/household member's files were reviewed today. There were no medications on site. The provider has first aid/CPR through American Red Cross and its due to expire on 7/30/ 19. Arrival time: 12:15 pm Departure time: 3pm

Violations:
Standard #: 22VAC40-111-830-A
Description: Based on an interview with the provider, it was determined that he is not doing monthly escape drills . Evidence: There was no log of monthly escape drills being conducted and the provider reported that he has done only one drill in June 2017 for the entire year.

Plan of Correction: I did a drill in June 2017 but I did not document it. I was not aware I had to do monthly escape drills, i will get the form on the public web site and I will do the monthly drills.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-830-B
Description: Based on an interview with the provider, it was determined that shelter in place drills are not being practiced a minimum of twice a year. Evidence: The provider reported that there has not been doing shelter in place drills.

Plan of Correction: I was not aware of the need for shelter in place drills and I will remember to do them twice a year and keep the documentation.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-830-D
Description: Based on an interview with the provider, it was determined that the emergency evacuation and shelter in place drills are not maintained for one year.

Plan of Correction: I will get the form from online and I will do and document the drills and keep a copy of the log.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-120-A
Description: Based on a review of files, it was determined that one caregiver did not have two references on file before being hired. Evidence: Person C was hired on 8/2/17 and has only one of the required two references on file.

Plan of Correction: I will get a second reference.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-70-A
Description: Based on a review of five children's files, it was determined that written information was not provided to the parents before the child's first day. Evidence: Child A enrolled on 9/11/17 and the provider did not complete the "information to parents" form which contains hour of operation, fees, meal and pet information.

Plan of Correction: I will fill out this information and have parents sign off on it.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-170-A
Description: Based on a review of files and an interview with the provider, it was determined that one person did not have a tuberculosis test/screening prior to being around children. Evidence: Person C was hired on 8/2/17 and does not have a tuberculosis test/screening on file.

Plan of Correction: Person C will get a tuberculosis test or screening.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-180-A
Description: Based on a review of files, it was determined that two adults did not have a tuberculosis test/screening on file. Evidence: Person A and B could not locate the documentation for tuberculosis test/screenings.

Plan of Correction: We have done the tuberculosis tests/screenings we just have to locate them.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-200-A
Description: Based on a review of files and an interview with the provider, it was determined that orientation training has not been provided by the end of the first week of assuming job responsibilities. Evidence: Person C was hired on 8/2/17 and has not been given orientation training.

Plan of Correction: We will give person C orientation training.

Standard #: 22VAC40-191-40-D-1-b
Description: Based on a review of four files ( household members and caregivers) it was determined that one person did not have a sworn disclosure statement on file prior to employment nor did they have a central registry record report on file within 30 days of employment. Evidence: Person C was hired on 8/2/17 and to date does not have a central registry finding record report.

Plan of Correction: I initially mailed the wrong form and money to the wrong agency, I have subsequently mailed off for this background check.

Standard #: 22VAC40-191-40-D-1-c
Description: Based on a review of four files and an interview with the provider, it was determined that two household members could not locate a sworn disclosure statement. Evidence: There were no sworn disclosure statements on file for Person A and Person B.

Plan of Correction: I will locate the sworn statements or do another one.

Disclaimer:

A compliance history is in no way a rating for a facility.

The online compliance history includes only information after July 1, 2003. In addition, the online compliance history includes information regarding adverse actions that may be the subject of a pending appeal. An adverse action is not final until a provider has exhausted or waived all due process rights. For compliance history prior to July 1, 2003, or information regarding the status of pending adverse actions, please contact the Licensing Inspector listed in the facility's information. The Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS) is not responsible for any errors in or omissions from the compliance history information.

Virginia Quality is a voluntary quality rating and improvement system for early care and education facilities serving children ages birth through pre-K. Eligible child care facilities must be fully licensed, licensed exempt and a VDSS subsidy vendor, or a voluntary registered day home and a VDSS subsidy vendor. Only programs enrolled in Virginia Quality will display a rating. Virginia Quality contact information for your region is available at the following link Regional Contacts.

Top