Translation Disclaimer

VDSS Bulletins and Closures
staff of hermes icon VDSS COVID-19 Resources | VDSS Alert DSS Closures
An Agency of the Commonwealth of Virginia
Click Here for Additional Resources
Search for Child Day Care
|Return to Search Results | New Search |

Shaista Mirza
6803 Blue Slate Court
Alexandria, VA 22306
(703) 660-1688

Current Inspector: Eureka Nance (703) 638-5968

Inspection Date: Dec. 18, 2017

Complaint Related: No

Areas Reviewed:
22VAC40-111 Administration
22VAC40-111 Personnel
22VAC40-111 Household Members
22VAC40-111 Physical Health of Caregivers and Household Members
22VAC40-111 Caregiver Training
22VAC40-111 Physical Environment and Equipment
22VAC40-111 Care of Children
22VAC40-111 Preventing the Spread of Disease
22VAC40-111 Medication Administration
22VAC40-111 Emergencies
22VAC40-111 Nutrition
22VAC40-80 THE LICENSE.
22VAC40-80 THE LICENSING PROCESS.
63.2 Child Abuse and Neglect
63.2 Licensure and Registration Procedures
63.2 Facilities and Programs..
63.2 Liability Insurance Disclosure
22VAC40-191 Background Checks for Child Welfare Agencies
54.1-3408 Provider must be MAT certified to administer prescription medication.

Comments:
An unannounced monitoring visit was conducted today between the hours of 9:16am through 1:30pm with the provider on site. There were 10 children (34 points) with the provider and two assistants. A sample of 5 children's files and 5 staff/household member's files were reviewed. The children were engaged in the following: toy play, nap time and infant care. The home is clean and organized. Areas of non-compliance are identified in the violation notice. Please contact me if you have any questions at Stacy.Doyle@dss.virginia.gov 571-835-0386.

Violations:
Standard #: 22VAC40-111-780-B
Description: Based on review, the provider did not review with the parent annually the emergency contact information required in 22 VAC 40-111-60 B 2 to ensure the information is correct. Evidence: 1. Child D (start date 08/01/2016) did not have a yearly review documented since 5/11/2016. 2. Child E (start date 09/06/2016) did not have a yearly review documented since 09/05/2016.

Plan of Correction: I will ask the parents to review it today.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-830-A
Description: Based on review, the emergency evacuation procedures were not practiced monthly with all caregivers and children. Evidence: 1. The evacuation drill log documented that a monthly fire drill was not completed during the months of July or October 2017.

Plan of Correction: I will make sure we do it. I did a shelter in place those months and didn't realize I had to do both.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-920
Description: Based on interview, the provider stated that meals and snacks are provided by the family day home to some of the children and did not have a menu for the current one week period. Evidence: 1. The provider stated she does not have a menu, but lets the parents know daily what was served.

Plan of Correction: I will create a menu.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-60-B
Description: Based on review, four of five records were incomplete. Evidence: 1. Child B's record was missing the work place address for one parent and the names and addresses of previously attended child day care and schools as required by 22 VAC 40-111-80. 2. Child C's record was missing the child's nickname, two emergency contact's addresses and the names and addresses of previously attended child day care and schools as required by 22 VAC 40-111-80.. 3. Child D's record was missing the child's nickname and the child's medical insurance policy number.

Plan of Correction: I will ask the parents for the information.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-80-A
Description: Based on review, the provider did not obtain two of five children's required information within seven business days of the child's first day of attendance. Evidence" 1. Child B did not have documentation of the name and location of the previous day care programs and schools the child attended. 2. Child C did not have documentation of verification of the identity and age of the child and the name and location of previous day care programs and schools the child has attended.

Plan of Correction: I will ask for the information from the parents.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-180-A
Description: Based on review, the provider did not obtain from each adult household member a current report of tuberculosis screening form every two years from the date of the first screening. Evidence: 1. Household member A had a TB test form dated 11/03/2015 and was more than two years from the last screening.

Plan of Correction: I will have him set an appointment up.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-320-A
Description: Based on observation, small electrical appliances were not unplugged unless being used by the caregiver. Evidence: 1. One blender was plugged in the kitchen and was not being used.

Plan of Correction: I will make sure the electrical appliances get unplugged when not being used.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-320-G
Description: Based on interview, the provider did not obtain documentation of the annual fire inspection. Evidence: 1. The provider stated she did not have a yearly fire inspection in the past year.

Plan of Correction: I will have the fireplace permanently sealed.

Standard #: 22VAC40-111-510-C
Description: Based on observation, cribs were not placed at least 12 inches from each other. Evidence: 1. Three cribs were directly next to each other and were touching and were not placed at least 12 inches from each other.

Plan of Correction: I moved them apart 12 inches.

Standard #: 22VAC40-191-40-D-1-c
Description: Based on review, the provider did not obtain an updated criminal history record check with an employee before three years since the date of the last criminal record check. Evidence: 1. Assistant A's criminal record check was dated 07/31/2013 and has been employed since 07/22/2013.

Plan of Correction: It was sent already and we have been checking on it. I will check on it again if I do not receive in a few weeks.

Standard #: 22VAC40-191-40-D-5-a
Description: Based on review, the provider did not obtain the child protective services central registry check within 30 days of a person becoming 14 year old that resides in the home. Evidence: 1. The provider stated Household member C was now over the age of 14 years old as of May 2016 and she did not obtain a child protective services central registry check.

Plan of Correction: I will send it out.

Disclaimer:

A compliance history is in no way a rating for a facility.

The online compliance history includes only information after July 1, 2003. In addition, the online compliance history includes information regarding adverse actions that may be the subject of a pending appeal. An adverse action is not final until a provider has exhausted or waived all due process rights. For compliance history prior to July 1, 2003, or information regarding the status of pending adverse actions, please contact the Licensing Inspector listed in the facility's information. The Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS) is not responsible for any errors in or omissions from the compliance history information.

Virginia Quality is a voluntary quality rating and improvement system for early care and education facilities serving children ages birth through pre-K. Eligible child care facilities must be fully licensed, licensed exempt and a VDSS subsidy vendor, or a voluntary registered day home and a VDSS subsidy vendor. Only programs enrolled in Virginia Quality will display a rating. Virginia Quality contact information for your region is available at the following link Regional Contacts.

Top