An Agency of the Commonwealth of Virginia
Click Here for Additional Resources
Search for Child Day Care
|Return to Search Results | New Search |

Honeygrove Learning Academy
4698 Honeygrove Road Ste.101
Virginia beach, VA 23455
(757) 266-4419

Current Inspector: Heather Harrell (757) 334-4329

Inspection Date: March 27, 2018 and April 6, 2018

Complaint Related: No

Areas Reviewed:
22VAC40-185 ADMINISTRATION.
22VAC40-185 STAFF QUALIFICATIONS AND TRAINING.
22VAC40-185 PHYSICAL PLANT.
22VAC40-185 STAFFING AND SUPERVISION.
22VAC40-185 PROGRAMS.
22VAC40-185 SPECIAL CARE PROVISIONS AND EMERGENCIES.
22VAC40-185 SPECIAL SERVICES.
63.2 Licensure and Registration Procedures
22VAC40-191 Background Checks (22VAC40-191)

Comments:
A monitoring inspection was conducted on 3/27/18 from 11:00am until 12:20pm. At the time of the tour, there were 39 children in care with 6 staff present. Children were observed eating lunch, participating in story time and resting quietly during nap time. Handwashing and toileting procedures were also observed. The emergency preparedness plan, documentation of emergency practice drills, children's injury reports and other center postings were reviewed. A follow-up visit was conducted on 4/6/18 from 10:30am until 11:15am to review records and first aid and emergency supplies. A sample of 5 children's records and 2 new staff records were reviewed. The remaining staff records were not accessible to the licensing inspector during the inspection. Violations in the areas of administration, staffing and supervision and background checks are identified on the violation notice and were discussed with staff #6, the designated person in charge.

Violations:
Standard #: 22VAC40-185-70-A
Description: Based on record review and interview, the center did not ensure that each staff record contains all the required elements. Evidence: 1. The records for staff #1 and staff #2 do not contain documented dates of employment. 2. Staff #6 confirmed that the records for staff #1 and #2 do not contain documented dates of employment.

Plan of Correction: The center responded with the following: Although, the start date was not listed on the staff file cover sheet that was created by Honeygrove. The actual application documents inside of the file did contain employees start date. I will make sure that we complete the cover sheet prior to employee starting employment.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-350-E-2
Description: Based on observation and interview, the center did not ensure that when children 16 months old to two year old are in care the ratio of one staff member for every five children is maintained. Evidence: 1. During the inspection on 3/27/18, the toddler classroom contained 11 children, ages 17 months to 2 years, with two staff present. The required ratio is one staff member for every five children. 2. Staff #3 and staff #4 confirmed that the toddler classroom was out of ratio during the inspection.

Plan of Correction: The center responded with the following: Unfortunately, an employee had a family emergency and quit that morning causing us to be out of ratio. I hired new staff and I am in the process of hiring additional staff to prevent this from happening again.

Standard #: 22VAC40-185-350-E-3
Description: Based on observation and interview, the center did not ensure that when two year old are in care the ratio of one staff member for every eight children is maintained. Evidence: 1. During the inspection on 3/27/18, there were ten children in care with one staff present in the two year old classroom. The required ratio is one staff member for every eight children. 2. Staff #5 confirmed that the two year old classroom was out of ratio due to another staff person quitting that morning.

Plan of Correction: The center responded with the following: Unfortunately, an employee had a family emergency and quit that morning causing us to be out of ratio. I hired new staff and I am in the process of hiring additional staff to prevent this from happening again.

Standard #: 63.2-1706-A
Description: Based on interview, it was determined the licensee did not afford the Commissioner reasonable opportunity to inspect all of their books and records. Evidence: The licensing inspector conducted visits to the center on 3/27/18 and 4/6/18. Both times, the inspector was advised by staff #6 that the center owner was not available. Staff #6 stated that staff records are kept locked in the owner's office and she is unable to gain access to them.

Plan of Correction: The center responded with the following: Employees records are locked up in my office. Unfortunately, I was hospitalized and had the keys with me. I will move the employees files back to the front of the building and leave a spare key with the staff member that is left in charge.

Standard #: 63.2-1720.1-B-2
Description: Based on record review and interview, the center did not ensure that each applicant or employee shall undergo a background check prior to the first day of employment. Evidence: 1. The record for staff #1 contains no documentation of a completed fingerprint background check. Staff #1stated she began employment on 4/5/18 and was caring for children on the day of the inspection. 2. Staff #6 confirmed that there is no completed fingerprint background check in the record for staff #1.

Plan of Correction: The center responded with the following: Staff one was hired on 4/5/18 and allowed to start working due to her just being fingerprinted on 2/14/18 through another Virginia Licensed Childcare Center that received the letter that staff 1 was eligible to work. I believed because it was a Virginia licensed Childcare Center that is required to use the same agencies that I am required to use that it would be ok considering she was scheduled to be fingerprinted again at 6:00pm on 4/5/18. In the future we will not let anyone start until we have our own background check in hand. Staff 1 was informed on 4/6/18 that she could not return to work until we have her background check.

Disclaimer:

A compliance history is in no way a rating for a facility.

The online compliance history includes only information after July 1, 2003. In addition, the online compliance history includes information regarding adverse actions that may be the subject of a pending appeal. An adverse action is not final until a provider has exhausted or waived all due process rights. For compliance history prior to July 1, 2003, or information regarding the status of pending adverse actions, please contact the Licensing Inspector listed in the facility's information. The Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS) is not responsible for any errors in or omissions from the compliance history information.

Virginia Quality is a voluntary quality rating and improvement system for early care and education facilities serving children ages birth through pre-K. To find programs participating in Virginia Quality, click here.

Google Translate Logo
Top